May 23, 2023


LCWINS Announces New Leadership Additions

The Leadership Council for Women in National Security (LCWINS) today announced new additions to its volunteer leadership.   

The LCWINS Honorary Advisory Committee is pleased to welcome former Secretary of the Air Force, Deborah Lee James. With 35 years of experience serving on Capitol Hill, multiple rounds as an appointee in the Pentagon, and as a leader in the defense, aerospace, and technology industries, James’ career exemplifies the impact of women’s senior leadership on U.S. national security and foreign policy.  

“Secretary James has been a true champion of diverse leadership throughout her career,” said Shelly O’Neill Stoneman, Chair of the LCWINS Board of Directors.  Vice Chair Jamie Jones Miller added, “We’re honored to welcome her to LCWINS and learn from the breadth and depth of her experience.”

Additionally, the LCWINS Board of Directors welcomes three newly elected members who begin their terms on July 1, 2023:

The newly elected directors replace three women whose terms end June 30, 2023.  Wendy Anderson, Nora Bensahel, and Evelyn Farkas served as three of LCWINS’ first Board members, shaping the organization’s earliest vision and strategy.

Executive Director Emily Perkins said, “Through their extraordinary careers, these women represent the value and impact of our LCWINS mission.  We are grateful to Wendy, Nora, and Evelyn for their years of dedication, wisdom, and guidance and we’re eager to incorporate Debbie, Veronica, Mary, and Deirdre’s expertise into the LCWINS community.”  



The Leadership Council for Women in National Security improves national security by ensuring that women, in all their diversity, have equal space at the policy-making table. LCWINS is an organization of women and allies from across the political spectrum working to advance gender inclusion at the highest levels of the U.S. national security and foreign policy workforce.  

For more information, contact